PsyD Student Selected as APA Leadership Development Fellow

Congratulations to Alicia MacDougall (4th year PsyD student), co-chair of APA Division 39 Graduate Student Committee, on being selected as a 2020 APA Leadership Development Fellow.

A diverse group of 14 fellows – 5 graduate students and 9 early career psychologists – was nominated by 5 APA Divisions and 9 State Psychological Associations (SPTAs), respectively.  These individuals were selected from a very competitive pool by the APAGS Committee and the Committee on Early Career Psychologists, which worked together to champion this initiative. It is being funded by APA, with support allocated by Early Career and Graduate Student Affairs (us), the Education Directorate (through the Acting Chief Education Officer, Dr. Cathi Grus), and the Practice Directorate (through Dr. Dan Abrahamson and Susie Lazaroff of the State Advocacy Office).
The fellowships’ purposes are (1) creating strong candidates for service to SPTAs, Divisions, and APA boards and committees, and particularly to the APA Council of Representatives; and (2) raising the visibility and importance of students and ECPs within APA at large.