Send in Your Campus Compact Nominations by February 21

Do you know someone at AUNE or connected with AUNE who has done outstanding community service? Members of the AUNE community are asked to submit nominations in three categories for the 2013-14 President’s Campus Compact Awards for Community Service. The deadline for nominations is  February 21.

The categories are:

• President’s Leadership Award. An individual student or student organization that has made outstanding contributions to community service, service learning, and/or civic engagement efforts on their campus.

• President’s Good Steward Award. A member of the faculty, administration, or staff who has contributed his or her professional expertise in service to the wider community and who has significantly advanced public service on their campus.

• President’s Community Partner Award. A nonprofit organization that has enhanced the quality of life in the community in meaningful and measurable ways and engaged in the development of sustained, reciprocal partnerships with AUNE.

How to Nominate
Submit a one-page narrative describing the work of the individual or organization and the reasons their work deserves the recognition. Submit it no later than Friday, February 21,to Mary Granger, acting executive assistant to the president, [email protected].

A committee, including past Presidents’ awardees, will review and make recommendations to President Steve Jones by February 25.  The president will submit the nominations to Campus Compact for New Hampshire by February 28.  Campus Compact will recognize the New Hampshire honorees at Campus Compact for New Hampshire’s annual Presidents’ Award luncheon on Tuesday, April 8.

Past Award Winners
Past recipients of the President’s Leadership Award are: Jahdiel Torres-Caba (2013),Think Outside the Bottle Campaign (2012), the Support Group for Ethnic and Racial Diversity/Disaster Shakti  (2011), Jessica Skinner (2010), Vincent Pignatiello (2009), Student Alliance (2008), and Sarah Gates (2007).

Past recipients of the President’s Good Steward Award are:  Abigail Abrash Walton (2013), Steve Chase (2012),  Elizabeth McCann (2011), Cathy Schlichting (2010), Gargi Roysircar-Sodowsky (2009), Polly Chandler (2008), and James Gruber (2007).

Past recipients of the President’s Community Partner Award are:  Harris Center for Conservation Education (2013), Cheshire Medical Center (2012), Working Families Win (2011), Cheshire County Conservation District (2010), Monadnock Conservancy (2009), Stonewall Farm (2008), and Barnes Peterson (2007).

The Campus Compact for New Hampshire is a statewide consortium of college and university presidents and private sector partners who are united in their commitment to the civic purposes of higher education.


Antioch Voices- Elizabeth Baxmeyer

International Day of Forests

“If you love a tree, you will be more beautiful than before!” – Amit Ray.

This year, the theme for the International Day of Forests, “Forests and Health,” is an invitation and an opportunity to reflect on what these expansive ecosystems do for us and how we can, in turn, serve them through conservation, species preservation, mindful nutrition, and ecological awareness.

More »
Skip to content