Richard Ober to be Keynote Speaker at AUNE Scholarship Event on Sept. 16

Antioch University New England (AUNE) is pleased to announce a major new fundraising event to benefit student scholarships. The 2011 Horace Mann Spirit of Service Awards dinner, on Friday, September 16, will feature keynote speaker Richard Ober, president and CEO of the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation.

The following three individuals will receive AUNE Horace Mann Spirit of Service Awards at the event to be held at the Keene Country Club, in Keene, New Hampshire.

    • 2011 Citizen’s Award: Juliana Eades, founder and president of the New Hampshire Community Loan Fund.


    • 2011 Staff/Faculty Award: Dr. Gargi Roysicar-Sodowsky, founding director of AUNE’s Multicultural Center for Research and Practice, and Disaster Shakti.


  • 2011 Alumnus Award: Jim Craiglow, president of the Stonewall Farm board of directors, president of the Monadnock Developmental Services board of directors, and former president of AUNE.

The Horace Mann Spirit of Service Awards honor individuals who have made a difference in the lives of others and who embody the spirit of Horace Mann, abolitionist, educator and the first president of Antioch College (1852-1859). Mann was a Massachusetts state legislator, state senator and a member of the U.S. House of Representatives. As the state’s first secretary of education, he established the Massachusetts public school system.

More about the Award Winners

James Craiglow (O&M ’77) has a long history in the field of education and volunteering in the community. A long-time resident of Keene, he was president of AUNE from 1986 to 2002 and chancellor of the Antioch University system from 2002 to 2006.

Craiglow has been president of the board of directors of Monadnock Development Services since 2008 and is president of the board of directors at Stonewall Farm.

He was co-chair of the 1995 City of Keene Community Goals Committee and chair of the Keene All-American City Committee in 1999 and 2000. He has served on the boards of directors for the Greater Keene Chamber of Commerce and for New Hope-New Horizons.

Juliana Eades was named the founding executive director of the New Hampshire Community Loan Fund in 1984. The organization serves as a catalyst, leveraging financial, human and civic resources for traditionally underserved New Hampshire residents.

Eades has served on the board of directors of the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation and was a founding board member of the Opportunity Finance Network. She is a former trustee of Citizens Funds and is a 1994 graduate of Leadership New Hampshire.

She received an honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from Franklin Pierce College. She was awarded the Granite State Award by the University of New Hampshire and the 2008 President’s Outstanding Woman of New Hampshire award by Keene State College.

Dr. Roysicar-Sodowsky is a professor of clinical psychology and the founding director of the Multicultural Center for Research and Practice, established in 2000 at AUNE. She founded Disaster Shakti, a volunteer team of doctoral clinical psychology students at AUNE who work with disaster survivors. She has worked with hurricane and tsunami survivors and with women and children in South Africa and Botswana affected by HIV/AIDS.

Dr. Roysicar-Sodowsky received her doctorate in educational psychology, with an emphasis in counseling psychology, from Texas Tech University.

The Awards Event

The 2011 Horace Mann Spirit of Service Awards keynote speaker will be Richard Ober, president and CEO of the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation. Ober was named one of the state’s most influential people last year by Business NH Magazine. He has more than twenty-five years of experience in nonprofit management, communications, and civic affairs. He served as executive director of the Monadnock Conservancy and as vice president for outreach and development for the Society for Preservation of New Hampshire Forests.

Ober has served on many nonprofit and public boards, including the New Hampshire Energy Efficiency and Sustainable Energy (EESE) board and the New Hampshire State Parks Advisory Council. In 2009, he received the Greenerpalooza award for his leadership on the EESE board and other efforts to help New Hampshire become more energy efficient.

The event benefits the Antioch University New England Scholarship Fund and is open to the public. For more information, contact Melinda Garland, AUNE Alumni relations, at 603-283-2166 or email [email protected]

Antioch University

Since our founding 1852, Antioch University has remained on the forefront of social justice, inclusion, and equality – regardless of ethnicity, gender, creed, orientation, focus of study, or ability.

Antiochians actively reflect these shared values to inspire positive change in the world. Common Thread is where we document the stories that showcase our communities actions, so the change we work for can be shared widely.  

© 2020 Antioch University. All Rights Reserved.

Skip to content