Horace Mann Spirit of Service 2015 Winners Announced

[royalslider id=”22″]
Antioch University New England (AUNE) has named the recipients of the 2015 Horace Mann Spirit of Service Awards.  Each year winners are selected in three categories: the Citizens Award, the Staff/Faculty Award and the Alumni Award, with this year’s awards going to Yvonne Goldsberry, Ed Tomey, and Bo Hoppin, respectively. The awards will be presented at the fifth annual Horace Mann Spirit of Service Awards event on Friday, September 18, at the Keene Country Club, 755 West Hill Road, at 6:00 pm. Tickets are $50.  Proceeds from the event benefit the AUNE Horace Mann Spirit of Service Scholarship Fund.

The Horace Mann Spirit of Service Awards are named  in honor of Horace Mann, Antioch College’s first president and a noted abolitionist and educator. The awards program recognizes individuals “who have won victories for humanity,” through their work and volunteerism.

By celebrating these individuals and honoring Mann’s ideals, AUNE continues its commitment to public service, community engagement, diversity, lifelong learning, sustainability, and social justice.


2015 Citizens Award | Yvonne Goldsberry, Vice President of Programs for the Endowment for Health

Yvonne Goldsberry

Yvonne Goldsberry

As vice president for programs at the Endowment for Health, Dr. Goldsberry leads grant making for health policy and equity related initiatives.  Before joining the Endowment for Health, she served as vice president of population health and clinical integration for Cheshire Medical Center/Dartmouth- Hitchcock Keene.  She is well known for leading the nationally recognized Healthy Monadnock 2020 initiative, which engaged numerous community coalitions and over 2,000 community leaders, stakeholders, and residents in a bold vision for community health.

Prior to that, Goldsberry served at the NH Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Community and Public Health where she successfully managed statewide planning, funding and allocations; developed the NH Public Health Network; and contracted for an $11-million federal emergency preparedness initiative.

Dr. Goldsberry holds a PhD in Public Policy from George Washington University, a Master of Public Health and a Master of Science in Urban Planning from Columbia University, and a Bachelor of Arts in Biology from Brown University.

2015 Staff/Faculty Award | Ed Tomey, Professor Emeritus of the Department of Organization & Management

Ed Tomey

Ed Tomey

Edward J. Tomey, professor emeritus at AUNE’s Department of Organization & Management (now Department of Management), is one of the principal architects of the department. Tomey founded Antioch’s Management Institute in 1984, and directed its services to nonprofits, including strategic planning, leadership and organization development, marketing, and grant making by The Corporate Fund until 2004.

Tomey taught at Harvard University for eight years, and at Antioch for 30 more, offering courses in leadership, management, professional communications, and career development. In his honor, Antioch established the Tomey Center, which supported the development of vibrant, successful organizations and was a vital link for graduate students in Organization & Management seeking supervised internships that allowed them to apply theory to practice. The Tomey Center, which he advised until 2004, exemplified the department’s commitment to assist organizations and individuals to succeed through education, training and consultation.

Tomey earned his bachelor’s degree at Colby College and his master’s degree at Harvard University.

2015 Alumni Award | Bo Hoppin, ’96 ES EE, Executive Director of Friends of the Young Achievers

Bo Hoppin

Bo Hoppin

Hoppin serves as the executive director of Friends of the Young Achievers (FOYA) and as the experiential education coordinator for Young Achievers Science and Math Pilot School. In these two roles Hoppin works to close both the opportunity and achievement gaps for under-served urban youth.  FOYA is a non-profit support organization for the Young Achievers Science and Mathematics Pilot School. Located in Mattapan, Massachusetts, the school’s mission is to provide a high quality K-8 public school experience for urban youth in science, math, and social justice. The school uses experiential education activities that apply core classroom curriculum to the local environment and community as a central pedagogical strategy.

At Antioch University New England, Hoppin played a pivotal role in the creation of the Community School Environmental Education (CO-SEED) program along with David Sobel and Delia Clark. He also worked with AUNE’s faculty to conceptualize and found the Rachel Marshall Outdoor Learning Laboratory in Keene.

To purchase tickets, contact Cindy Rodenhauser Stewart, director of institutional advancement, at 603-283-2165 or [email protected]. For  more information, visit: antiochne.edu/alumni/horacemannevent/

Antioch University

Since our founding 1852, Antioch University has remained on the forefront of social justice, inclusion, and equality – regardless of ethnicity, gender, creed, orientation, focus of study, or ability.

Antiochians actively reflect these shared values to inspire positive change in the world. Common Thread is where we document the stories that showcase our communities actions, so the change we work for can be shared widely.  

© 2020 Antioch University. All Rights Reserved.

Skip to content