Founding Board of Trustees Welcomed at Antioch New England

Antioch University New England (ANE) is pleased to announce the appointment of its first board of trustees. Martha Summerville, president of Summerville Consulting, LLC, and a 1985 alumna of Antioch New England, will serve as board chair. Charlton MacVeagh, a thirty-year banking industry veteran and former trustee and board chair for Franklin Pierce University, will serve as vice-chair.

“I am honored to welcome these esteemed community members to ANE’s inaugural board of trustees,” said ANE president David Caruso. “Each board member brings significant life experience and great wisdom to our campus. I look forward to working closely with them over the coming years.”

Antioch University New England is one of the campuses of Antioch University, a nonprofit, five-campus university based in Ohio. Antioch University’s Board of Governors approved the Antioch New England trustee nominations and authorized the ANE board to govern at their June 5th meeting. In the fall of 2008, the Antioch University Board of Governors directed each campus to establish its own board of trustees and delegated significant authority and responsibility for campus governance, management oversight, and philanthropic advancement of their particular campus to these boards.

The ANE board of trustees will meet for the first time in July. In addition to Martha Summerville and Charlton MacVeagh, ANE named the following individuals as trustees:

Randall S. Carmel, attorney at law, former member of Antioch University New England Board of Visitors;

Diana Duffy, 2003 ANE alumna, senior program manager at National Grid and responsible for National Grid’s residential, low-income energy programs in New Hampshire, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island;

Jaymie Durnan, attorney at law, deputy director, Joint Advanced Concepts, U.S. Department of Defense;

Jennifer A. Kramer, 2004 ANE alumna, associate director of philanthropy, the Nature Conservancy, Vermont chapter;

John (Jack) G. Merselis, Jr., MD, 1996 ANE alumnus, chairman of CSR Corporation, author, retired physician;

Alan T. Popp, 1999 ANE alumnus, chief executive officer of the Mason-Wright Foundation;

Donald L. Shumway, president and chief executive officer, Crotched Mountain Foundation, former commissioner of the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services;

M. Kay Thomson, 1995 ANE alumna, former Antioch University Board of Trustees member, founding member of the Ocean State Light Opera company;

Edward J. Tomey, business and non-profit consultant, board chair of the New Hampshire Community Loan Fund, ANE faculty emeritus;

Cheryl Wilfong, 1993 ANE alumna, treasurer of the Board of Directors of Vermont Insight Meditation Center, retired psychotherapist, accountant, financial consultant, and human services administrator.

Skip to content