Faculty Member Dawn Osborn Selected to Receive 3rd Annual Excellence in Teaching Award at AUSB’s Commencement on June 21

Antioch University Santa Barbara (AUSB) faculty member Dawn A. Osborn, PhD, will be honored by the university with the 3rd Annual Award for Excellence in Teaching at the school’s 2013 Commencement Ceremony on Friday, June 21.

“Dawn is an incredible role model as a researcher and scholar, and we are so lucky to have her a member of our AUSB community,” said AUSB President Dr. Nancy Leffert. “We have all observed and greatly appreciated her skills as an educator, her commitment, and her boundless enthusiasm  – all of which she brings to her teaching, to every one of her students – while lighting up our days with her sparkling personality!”

Dr. Osborn started as an Adjunct lecturer at AUSB in 2006, becoming Core Faculty in 2010. She led the establishment of the BA Program’s Environmental Studies concentration, where she teaches courses such as Environmental Advocacy and Justice, Marine Biology, Global Environmental Studies, and Sustainable Business Practices. She also facilitates unique quarterly seminars on hot topics – like ocean plastic, rainforest advocacy, seasonal migrators, and food production – as part of AUSB’s Community Environmental Series, which is open to the public. In addition, Dr. Osborn serves as the Director of International Research for the Tribal Trust Foundation, a Santa Barbara-based grass-roots organization that works to preserve indigenous cultures around the world.

AUSB’s Award for Excellence in Teaching is an annual recognition of a faculty member by his or her faculty peers. Nominations are submitted by the faculty through the Program chairs, and then reviewed and recommended, based on the following criteria:

1. Excellence in teaching in general, particularly in teaching AU’s core purposes.

2. Excellence in instruction design to achieve the school’s and the student’s goals.

3. Engagement in teaching, stimulating, and educating students.

4. Passion for inspiring students, “above and beyond the call of duty.”

The first award, in 2011, recognized John Forhan, JD, Adjunct Faculty in the BA program. Last year, the award was given to Juliet Rohde-Brown, PhD, Core Faculty and Chair of the Doctoral program in Clinical Psychology (PsyD).

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Antioch University

Since our founding 1852, Antioch University has remained on the forefront of social justice, inclusion, and equality – regardless of ethnicity, gender, creed, orientation, focus of study, or ability.

Antiochians actively reflect these shared values to inspire positive change in the world. Common Thread is where we document the stories that showcase our communities actions, so the change we work for can be shared widely.  

© 2020 Antioch University. All Rights Reserved.

Skip to content